CITY AT A GLANCE

M.C.J FACE DATA

| DATE OF ESTABLISHMENT | 5 JULY 1977 |
|----------------------------------|---------------------------------------|
| PUNJAB MUNICIPAL CORPORATION ACT | PUNJAB MUNICIPAL CORPORATION ACT 1976 |
| FIRST MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS AFTER | 1991 |
| FORMATION OF MUNICPAL | |
| NEXT ELECTION DUE | 2023 |

ELECTED MAYOR's

| FIRST MAYOR (Name & Period) | SH. JAI KISHAN SAINI (18.6.1991 to 11.6.1996) |
|-------------------------------|---|
| SECOND MAYOR (Name & Period) | SH. SURESH SEHGAL (23.5.1997 to 22.5.2002) |
| THIRD MAYOR (Name & Period) | SH. SURINDER MAHEY (15.6.2002 to 10.6.2007 |
| FOURTH MAYOR (Name & Period) | SH. RAKESH RATOUR (10.9.2007 to 9.9.2012 |
| FIFTH MAYOR (Name & Period) | SH. SUNIL JYOTI – (25.9.2012 to 24.9.2017) |
| SIXTH MAYOR (Name & Period) | SH. JAGDISH RAJ RAJA (25.1.2018 to 24.1.2023) |
| SEVENTH MAYOR (Name & Period) | |

GEOGRAPHICAL DATA

| AREA OF COVERAGE (IN SQ. KM) | 145 (APPROX.) |
|------------------------------|---------------|
| NO. OF ADMINISTATIVE WARDS | 85 |
| LATITUDE | 31.3260292 |
| LONGITUDE | 75.5761689 |
| ALTITUDE | 242m |

DEMOGRAPHICAL DATA (AS PER CENSUS 2011)

| NO. OF HOUSEHOLDS | 174145 |
|---------------------|--------|
| TOTAL POPULATION | 873725 |
| MALE POPULACE | 463975 |
| FEMALE POPULACE | 409750 |
| SEX RAIO (Per 1000) | 915 |
| TOTAL LITERACY RATE | 82.48 |
| MALE LITERACY | 86.15 |
| FEMALE LITERACY | 78.48 |

COMMISSIONER'S

| Sr. No. | NAME OF THE OFFICER | From | То |
|---------|-----------------------------------|------------|------------|
| 1. | SH. RAJESH CHHABRA, IAS | 01.08.1977 | 24.03.1980 |
| 2. | SH. D.S. CHAWDHARY, IAS | 25.03.1980 | 24.03.1983 |
| 3. | SH. J.S. KESAR, IAS | 25.03.1983 | 29.06.1983 |
| 4. | SH. G.D. BHASIN, IAS | 30.06.1983 | 09.05.1984 |
| 5. | SH. A. C. SHARMA, IAS | 09.03.1984 | 07.08.1986 |
| 6. | SH. S. C. AGGARWAL, IAS | 11.08.1986 | 23.09.1986 |
| 7. | SH. I.L. DHAWRA, IAS | 23.09.1986 | 30.06.1989 |
| 8. | SH. R.S. SANDHU, IAS | 30.06.1989 | 30.04.1990 |
| 9. | SH. P. RAM, IAS | 27.08.1990 | 15.02.1991 |
| 10. | SH. SWAMI RAM BHARTI, IAS | 16.02.1991 | 15.05.1992 |
| 11. | SH. S. S. RAJPUT, IAS | 15.05.1992 | 08.03.1995 |
| 12. | SH. JASBIR SINGH BIR, IAS | 15.03.1995 | 13.07.1998 |
| 13. | SH. J. B. GOYAL, IAS | 23.07.1998 | 09.05.2000 |
| 14. | SH. BIDHI CHAND, IAS | 06.06.2000 | 29.03.2001 |
| 15. | SH. ROSHAN SUNKARIA, IAS | 29.03.2001 | 11.10.2001 |
| 16. | SH. SAMIR KUMAR, IAS | 11.10.2001 | 22.03.2002 |
| 17. | SH. JAGJIT SINGH, IAS | 23.03.2002 | 31.12.2002 |
| 18. | SMT. SAROJNINI GAUTAM SHARDA, PCS | 15.01.2003 | 17.02.2004 |
| 19. | SH. T.R. SARANGAL, IAS | 17.02.2004 | 22.07.2004 |
| 20. | SH. SATWANT SINGH JOHAL, PCS | 26.07.2004 | 15.07.2005 |
| 21. | SH. C.S. TALWAR, PCS | 13.07.2005 | 07.09.2005 |
| 22. | SH. SATWANT SINGH JOHAL, IAS | 07.09.2005 | 14.05.2007 |
| 23. | SH. C.S. TALWAR, IAS | 14.05.2007 | 21.08.2008 |
| 24. | SH. VINAY BUBLANI, PCS | 21.08.2008 | 27.07.2011 |
| 25. | SH. B.S. DHALIWAL, PCS | 27.07.2011 | 11.05.2012 |
| 26. | SH. VINAY BUBLANI, PCS | 11.05.2012 | 19.09.2013 |
| 27. | SH. MANPREET SINGH CHHATWAL, IAS | 19.09.2013 | 27.10.2014 |
| 28. | SH. G.S. KHEHRA, PCS | 04.11.2014 | 15.05.2017 |
| 29. | SH. BASANT GARG, IAS | 22.05.2017 | 21.06.2018 |
| 30. | SH. DIPRAVA LAKRA, IAS | 20.07.2018 | 15.06.2020 |
| 31. | SH. KARNESH SHARMA, IAS | 16.06.2020 | 05.05.2022 |
| 32. | MRS. DEEPSHIKHA SHARMA, IAS | 05.05.2022 | 00.07.2022 |
| 33. | SH. DAVINDER SINGH , IAS | 00.07.2022 | 02.11.2022 |
| 34. | SH. ABHIJEET KAPLISH, IAS | 03.11.2022 | CONTINUE |
| | | | |